The Not So Coy Koi

The water lily ponds at the Haupt Conservatory in the New York Botanical Garden that form part of the Giverny exhibition are teeming not only with water lilies…also with koi, ornamental varieties of carp.  Some of these fish were small and swam more deeply in the ponds.  Others lurked in the reeds.  And then there were the not so coy koi.

There was a particularly bold specimen who appeared to notice a human presence and make its way deliberately toward me.  When it got to the edge of the pond, another koi surfaced and then, the two of them, appeared to engage in a graceful water ballet for our pleasure.

14 thoughts on “The Not So Coy Koi

  1. I love koi ponds! Hubby and I had one in our backyard when we lived in Memphis. We got married in front of it and it was wonderful. Have a lovely weekend, M. and thanks for sharing these gorgeous pics of the botanical garden you’ve been so kind enough to share with all of us.

    1. Ah, Brigitte, darling, sharing the pictures I’m lucky enough to take is one of the joys in my life. It’s been a very long time since I’ve had a backyard, and never had a pond although I’d’ve liked one. By the way, sweet husband and I got married in a community garden. You, too, dear friend, have a wonderful weekend! xoxoM

  2. Oh, Natasha was showing me pictures of these guys on her phone. Was this the Bronx Botanical Gardens or the Brooklyn? I’ve been to the Brooklyn one and I don’t recall the existence of koi fish, but then again, it’s been a while. I haven’t been to the Bronx one in ages. Lovely photos!

    1. Thanks, Anna. These are in the Bronx garden. We had a lot of fun photographing the koi and they seemed to be hamming it up for our cameras. I haven’t been to the Brooklyn garden in a long time…putting it on my agenda! xoM

Leave a Reply

