Lee’s Art Shop Is Ali Baba’s Cave In Manhattan

Recently, I’ve taken up drawing and watercoloring.  Me, the queen of stick figures, creating oeuvres. Hah! I draw my pictures with a ball point pen or a black Sharpie – no erasing – and then color them in with crayons and a watercolor set from the .99¢ store. Because I make them up, I can color outside the lines if I want to!

The other day I was over on 57th Street and decided to take a peek inside Lee’s Art Shop.  I’ve been to this store, across the street from the Art Students League, before and it’s always a stimulating experience.  This time, however, I walked in as an artiste in search of media.


Who knew watercolors come in tubes and that there are so many kinds and brands to choose from?  Need a paint brush?  Pick one, any one…or ten…

And why limit myself to watercolors?  How about a little painting on glass or ceramic?

Or maybe a little something with bling? Perhaps I could interest you in something in glitter glue…or the newest gems?

And they had pencils, all kinds of pencils.  The Prismacolors I coveted as a little girl in Venezuela, and the Faber Castells I always got stuck with because they were more affordable way back then.

How about a new journal and some great pens to write with in there?  Yes, I still like to put pen to paper in my writing!

Basta!  This whole artiste business is a little overwhelming for me. How did Ali Baba know what to grab when he first walked into his treasure cave? For now, I’ll stick to my .99¢ store supplies.  And soon, I’ll be going back to Lee’s and saying “Open Sesame!”

22 thoughts on “Lee’s Art Shop Is Ali Baba’s Cave In Manhattan

  1. I LOVE art supply stores, but you’re right — it’s overwhelming. I do love to paint though. I may not be very good at it, but I still love it. Can’t wait to see your creation, Margarita.

    1. This is a very fun store to go to, Brigitte. And it’s four stories. Oy! I create a little something daily. It connects me to Self and brings me much joy…I’m very much enjoying this form of meditation! I’d like to see more of your work, my dear! xoxoM

  2. Great post!! It can be so easy to get overwhelmed with all the options when what you are trying to do is simply exercise your creativity – it should be so simple. Good for you for walking away…for now!😉

  3. I would be so distracted by all the colors everywhere I looked! My brothers got the artistic talent in the family (not that either makes a career of it). But my sister and I were the musicians and writers (not that either of us made a career of them, either). I’m l ooking forward to seeing some of your creations here on the blog.🙂

  4. My mouth is watering, and I have only recently, for the first time in my life, begun to play a bit with art kinds of stuff. I’m sure you’re turning out lovely things! 🙂

  5. Don’t you just LOVE Lee’s? It always makes me want to buy so many things. I don’t paint, or draw, or anything artistic like that, but being at that store always makes me want to go hog wild and buy everything.

Leave a Reply

