There Is, Indeed, A Morning After

Mickey and I walked out into a crisp, clear, clean morning.  The sky had great puffs of white clouds breaking up the brilliant blue.  Traffic is almost at normal levels on Broadway and the buses are, thankfully, running.  One of my neighbors was hurrying off to work, relieved to be out of the house and doing something other than waiting.

After giving Mickey his breakfast, I took a quick stroll down to the Hudson’s banks, curious if the geese were still there.  They were there!  I feel as if they’ve become my best buds in the past few days and it was nice to watch them placidly swimming and hanging out in the ball fields, enjoying the sun and oblivious to the human dramas unfolding just downstream, just down the coast, well, in many places around us.

Watching them swim became a meditation for me.  Just as the geese swam first down river, then up river, and back down, so thoughts seemed to drift through my mind in rhythm with the birds.

While life is pretty much back to normal in our neighborhood, I’ve yet to hear from friends in the West Village.  The power is out there and maintaining phone communication is difficult.  We just heard from my dear friend just across the river: their power is still out, too.  Getting so many millions of lives back on track is truly a Herculean task. It will take the effort and determination of all of us to be successful in this endeavor.  There is a role for government as well as private enterprise, for individuals, families, and communities, for men and women, for the young and the elderly, for people of all races and religious (or non-religious) persuasions.

People, our beautiful planet is crying for our help, literally! On this morning after, are we capable of putting aside our petty squabbles and divisiveness and remember that we are all One, remember that there can never be a “them” because we are all “us.” Can we all be the grown-ups and simply do the right thing because ALL of it is in it for ALL of us?  I’m willing…

There is, indeed, a morning after.  What are we going to do with it?

16 thoughts on “There Is, Indeed, A Morning After

  1. Wonderful words for the occasion, Margarita. Some bloggers are still silent, and I hope they’ll soon be able to join us again. I’ll be glad to see blue skies again.

    1. Thanks, Valerie. We’ve had so many clues and cues as to the most valuable and helpful choices and behaviors, it astonishes me that there are those who have not yet received the memo. It seems to me that if I’ve received it, and I am by no means on any preferential list, then it must have gone out globally. Maybe it’s languishing in some spam folders? Let’s check those out. Living cluelessly is unnecessarily painful. xoxoM

  2. Hi Margarita! As I’m certain you figured out by now😉 I’m starting a new blog and trying to work out all of the kinks and still rearranging. I’m trying to set up my gravatar or avatar, but so far no luck. I don’t know what the problem is.😦 Anyhow, as you know I linked to this post, hope you don’t mind….🙂 Wishing you a good day.😀 XO

  3. I like looking for your ducks too…it is somehow a sign of hope…that everything will be okay. The waiting is hard, but in this hard and fast world, sometimes time seems like the enemy…it is not. Its all we have.

Leave a Reply

