Testing, Testing…

As you know, I started taking pictures when I finally remembered my cell phone, which I always carry with me, has a camera.  Duh!  So all the pictures I’ve taken to now have been taken with my cell phone.

Yesterday, I took a baby step and got an actual camera!  Nothing special or expensive.  Just something that has a zoom lens.  I’m sure it has other features as well, I’m just not there yet.

This morning when I was out with Mickey and Samson (Samson’s staying with us for a few days while his dad’s away), I took out my new camera and snapped some pictures.

I love the morning light as it filters through the leaves of the trees.  This is what I saw as I was coming through the door of my building. For weeks, I’ve been trying to take a picture of the tree on the Broadway Mall down the street.  I kept seeing the brilliant reds in the morning and afternoon light and was frustrated by my inability to capture the exquisite colors as the light danced through the leaves on the tree.  I’m not sure I’ve yet been successful…thanks to the zoom lens, however, the camera is coming closer to seeing what my eyes see.  And, sometimes, it sees stuff I don’t notice.

25 thoughts on “Testing, Testing…

    1. I did no research on this, Helen. There was an advertisement for a reconditioned Vivitar ViviCam T027 on sale at a store on W125, so we went to look. It has a couple of things the cell doesn’t and it also has a video capability (which F liked). So we bought it along with an 8MB card for about $45. It’s enough for us to play and learn with! Hope this helps! xoM

  1. All your other photos were taken with just a cell phone?? That’s one heck of a camera that phone has, then. But these photos are great too, and I’m a sucker for autumn-colored leaves.

  2. “sometimes it sees stuff I don’t notice” So true😉 Enjoy! I’m looking forward to the results.😉
    Lately I’ve noticed how the light shines through our cottonwoods around sunset and I’ve been dying to try to capture that. Actually, I went out a couple of days ago, shot one photo and my battery died. LOL😦 Be certain to keep a backup battery handy or keep your battery charged. It’s so disappointing when you have that perfect shot and no power.😀

    1. That’s one of the first things that I’m learning about this new camera, Ann: the battery thing! With my cell phone, I always keep it well charged for obvious reasons. The camera, however, uses AAA batteries and, apparently, they get used up very quickly. So I’m looking into rechargeable AAA batteries and/or simply stocking up on them. I’d love to see a picture of your cottonwoods. My e-mail is wiseweaversnet@gmail.com…just hinting! xoxoM

      1. I’d love to share. Thanks for the motivation! Oh yes those batteries drain so quickly. I have a rechargeable now and I LOVE it. I just need to remember to charge like you say, like with the cell phone😉

    1. Thank you! While I agree with you that New York has many photographing opportunities, I’m realizing just what a great tool/toy a camera is without the encumbrance of film. That instant gratification thing is so easy, and inexpensive, to satisfy with a simple point-and-shoot! Thanks for stopping by and all the best to you! xoM

Leave a Reply

