Another Gem in Central Park

I was already in Central Park yesterday when the meeting I was going to was cancelled.  Talk about serendipity!  I had my new camera with me, as well as my cell phone, and I was in the northern part of the park, an area I’d been meaning to re-visit for a while.  So I went to The Pool, over by West 103 Street and Central Park West.

Even though The Pool is clearly visible from the street, once down by its shores, it’s easy to forget it’s in the middle of New York City.  The Pool is a rather small body of water by Central Park standards.  There are weeping willows trailing their wispy branches into the water, a turtle was sunbathing on a rock, ducks were swimming around.  This little fellow seemed quite comfortable being the subject of a photo shoot!

According to Central Park’s official website, the source of The Pool is a New York City drinking water pipe camouflaged by rocks.  It cascades down into The Pool at its southwestern end, and flows out the Glen Span waterfall on its northeastern end. There are rustic benches all around the pool, inviting one to linger and meditate on the beauty of Nature.  Traces of Sandy’s fury still remain and crews are diligently working to remove any potentially dangerous branches.  Down by The Pool, serenity reigns!

33 thoughts on “Another Gem in Central Park

  1. It look like a great day to have had a meeting cancelled.🙂 Some of the trees around us are now blazing red in color and just beautiful. Luckily, Sandy didn’t take all the leaves down!

    1. That’s one of the things I noticed in the park yesterday, JM. There were trees that were totally denuded of their foliage and others were sporting it all in blazing glory! xoM

  2. Ah, Central Park, my old stomping grounds when I lived in the west fifties. When I was a lass, I’d sunbathe in Sheep’s Meadow. I had a drunken fight with my boyfriend in there, and once I passed out on a park bench in there at 3am — I’m glad to be alive! On the positive end, I’ve been in four races in the park, have seen Shakespeare in the Park, have enjoyed concerts there and have had some fine strolls.

    1. Lolllllll!!!!! I still love to stomp, stroll, meander, walk through Central Park every chance I get, Sandee. For me, it never gets old, no matter how far uptown I get! xoxoM

    1. No, you’re not that blind, Maggie. It’s that small. The sweet little turtle is a little bump on the right side of the rock. Because of the zoom resolution, the pixels kind of blend together. Coming to NY in two weeks? What’s the occasion? What’ll you be doing? xoxoM

      1. OK. I’ll go look again. I’m coming to NY b/c a friend of mine is going to a baby shower and plane tickets were super cheap and her nephew is getting us a deal at the hotel he works at, the Ace on W. 29th. And I haven’t been to NYC since 2008! We are going to do the Highline walk and we are going to the Frick Museum, Frick Collection, something like that.

      2. How fun! The Ace hotel is in a great location. I’m frequently in that neighborhood and keep meaning to stop in, but always in a hurry. The Frick is also wonderful. It’s been many years since I’ve visited it. The nice thing about it is that it’s small and very manageable. It’s a long way to come for a baby shower. The mom-to-be must be very dear! xoxoM

  3. Margarita, las fotos que has puesto de Central Park son preciosas y reflejan la belleza y la serenidad de la naturaleza. ¡Que hermoso!. ¡Enhorabuena por ellas! Un abrazo. Araceli

    1. Gracias, Araceli! Que placer verte por aqui. Tenemos mucha suerte nosotros los residentes de la ciudad de Nueva York por tener tantas oportunidades y lugares para hacer nuestras conexiones con la naturaleza! Un gran abrazo para ti tambien, amiga mia! xoM

Leave a Reply

