Life In Sepia Tones

I’m living in a muted world of sepia tones.  At least, that’s how it feels.  This past month has been tumultuous on so many levels, the Universe seems to be telling us to wake up and pay attention!

Hurricane Sandy swept through our region: the most physical expression of the Universe shoving us out of our metaphorical beds, shaking out the sheets, and remaking those beds without the hospital corners and fluffed up pillows we like.  We were all definitely challenged to go out of our comfort zones,some of us much more literally than others.  Even so, there is no doubt in my mind that it affected everyone in some way.

The presidential election finally took place and now, just a couple of weeks later, seems a distant memory.  The harangues and exhortations that have assaulted us for the past two years in a bid to gain our attention for more than a nano-second and yield a vote have stopped. Finally.  Thankfully.  Now it remains for all of us who live in this country and care about its welfare and progress, regardless of political, religious, or national affiliation, to work together, respectfully, to actually bring about a harmonious collaboration from the grass-roots to the Oval Office.  Seriously.  The work only began at the ballot box.

The Thanksgiving holiday and its disruption of the usual work-week coming so close on top of the disruptions caused by Sandy, seemed to intensify that feeling of being out of sync in time and space for me. It also gave me a space to contemplate more fully just how much I have to be thankful for.  I think living in that space of gratitude could be addictive for me…an addiction I’m open to embracing and exploring…

I’m just going to stay there, in that space of gratitude, a while longer.

19 thoughts on “Life In Sepia Tones

      1. I love black and white photos and sepia because they allow you to see beyond the color. Lines and shades force the eyes to dramatically perceive things differently. Beautiful pics, my friend. Much love!

  1. “I’m just going to stay there, in that space of gratitude, a while longer.” I spend a lot of days clinging to gratitude when I feel like Dorothy from the Wizard of Oz spinning about! I’m sorry you and yours are having to deal with the Sandy aftermath and hope you didnt experience too much damage and loss. Sepia is good color for being in the middle between where we’ve been and where we are going. Hang in there!

  2. Amen, Margarita. I’ve been sort of disoriented too, between the hurricane and the election. So much still needing to be done, but also much to be grateful for. I LOVE these photos, especially the 1st, 2nd, and last ones.

    1. Thanks, Madame. It’s definitely been weird! It’s really interesting to see how the light expresses in the sepia. Makes the ordinary world look a little less ordinary..although ordinary is quite welcome these days! xoxoM

Leave a Reply

