“A Date Which Will Live In Infamy.” Does It?

How many  remember that today is Pearl Harbor Day?

How many  know what Pearl Harbor Day is?

FDR 4 Freedoms Memorial 014(2)Franklin Roosevelt called December 7, 1941, the date the Japanese Navy attacked and destroyed the American fleet in Pearl Harbor, Hawai’i, “a date which will live in infamy.” Bus Ride Downtown 001The senseless attack on the World Trade Center in New York City on September 11, 2001 is acknowledged as the most significant attack on American might since Pearl Harbor.

On the 71st anniversary of the attack on Pearl Harbor, outside of Hawai’i, how many  remember?1 WTC WIP 005 In 2072, how many will remember September 11, 2001?

8 thoughts on ““A Date Which Will Live In Infamy.” Does It?

  1. I only know of Pearl Harbor from history and my parents telling of where they were as teenagers when it happened. But I’m aware of the day and its meaning. And I hope that means those born twenty years or more after 9/11 will also be aware of that day and its meaning.

  2. It struck me last night that I had not heard any mention of it this year. I wonder what it will be like in September years from now. Maybe because every news station aired the attack live, our collective memory will last longer. Thanks for the reminder.

    1. Yes, that’s what I wonder about, too, Katie. I also wonder how it will be remembered and perceived in years to come. I know my own remembrance of it is through the prism of my experience of living in the city at the time of the attacks. As a result, my view is different from that of someone who experienced it exclusively through media, or who will experience it exclusively from history books. Very interesting…xoxoM

Leave a Reply

