Remind Me Again…

…what season is this?

Snow after Christmas 2012 015

According to my calendar, just an ordinary, run-of-the-mill calendar I got from my local grocer, no Mayan or any other type of fancy calendar, it’s January.  In New York City, January means winter, usually with some snow, blustery winds, and like that…

www.mysmallstillvoice.wordpress.comIt seems, however, that this tree on Atlantic Avenue in Brooklyn has forgotten to shed its desiccated fall finery and still flaunts it in all its glory.

www.mysmallstillvoice.wordpress.comOver by Borough Hall, a very confused cherry tree seems to think its time to don its spring blossom outfit.

We, the trees and I, are so confused…

14 thoughts on “Remind Me Again…

  1. I so get you on this:) Down here in Alabama it is 74 and rainy. Tomorrow it will be in the 40s and going on down. My way of looking at it is at least there is no bad storms, just a lot of standing in front of my closet and going Hmmm?

  2. I’m rather grateful for above average temps here, M. I think nature is confused but still I loved your pic of that bud of Spring. I just bet winter is still around…..lets hope it doesn’t dump a bunch of white stuff or ice on us!

    1. I loved finding those buds, and it’s just another reminder that stuff, in general, is shifting, Brigitte. Neither good nor bad, just different! I always donate our white stuff to the ski slopes – I like to think some years I’m more successful in holding that vibe than others, but it’s just my delusion! lol xoxoM

  3. This must play havoc with the cherry tree’s natural rhythms. A couple years ago we had a warmish winter where some of the trees forgot to shed their (dessicated greenery) & it made for a very interesting spring. I hope you don’t get a cold snap with attendant ice.

  4. I think we’re in a period of change. And it strikes me that the weather forecasts are wrong more than they used to be. I don’t have the studies to back me up, but I wonder if our models and forecasting methods need some readjustment….

    1. I would agree with you, JM. I feel that we can’t rely on what came before as a model for going forward. It’s just what came before, and now we need to figure out what the going forward looks like…xoM

Leave a Reply

