Winter Fragrance

www.mysmallstillvoice.wordpress.comAs I was walking around Columbus Park at Borough Hall in Brooklyn the other day, whiling the time away until my daughter arrived, I noticed the remnants of the recent holiday season.  The fountain, its water supply cut off for the winter, is still stuffed with assorted twigs and branches, looking a little tired and ready to become mulch.  www.mysmallstillvoice.wordpress.comMany of the ornaments have blown off the still-standing Christmas tree, littering the lawn around it.

I noticed a faintly familiar fragrance as I walked around.  Not quite floral; not quite herbal; completely comforting. I took a closer look at the plantings near the fence, remembering the spikes of lavender from the summer before.  It didn’t make sense that those dried-up flowers would offer up such a noticeable fragrance.  Then I recognized the shrubs the lavender was nestled in and their fragrance: Rosemary!

I breathed in more deeply, reveling in the unexpected gift of Nature’s perfume in the middle of the city!

7 thoughts on “Winter Fragrance

    1. Ah, how lucky you are, Brigitte! I like to steep them a little while in hot water and add them to my lime-ade in the summer. Soothing refreshment in no time at all! xoxoM

  1. I love catching a whiff of something so wonderful like what you describe when I’m out on a walk. Sometimes I’m able to trace the smell to the source and sometimes not.

    1. Yes, it is. I have a fascination with fountains. The one at Lincoln Center is my favorite because of how the flowing water looks when photographed. This one I love because it seems to bring the water and earth elements together, and it reaches out into the sky! xoxoM

    1. I know what you mean. However, it’s a very tiny park within a larger park, and this section is not open to the public, so there’s no one walking through the park. xoM

Leave a Reply

