Oh, The Pressure Of It All!

www.mysmallstillvoice.wordpress.comEvery morning I’m greeted by the sight of the water tanks atop the building across Broadway.  I’m fascinated by the sunlight reflecting on the windows and the giant towers that seem to stand watch.

www.mysmallstillvoice.wordpress.comLike many people, I’ve thought of water tanks as relics of New York City’s past.  www.mysmallstillvoice.wordpress.comThen, when I thought about it for a while, I realized that many new buildings are equipped with these so-called relics.  A little poking about the internets brought to light that water tanks are not merely water storage receptacles; they are an integral part of the water pumping mechanisms in our vertically endowed skyline.  www.mysmallstillvoice.wordpress.comIn other words, the efficiency of the water pressure in our toilets is directly linked to the water tanks on our roofs.  www.mysmallstillvoice.wordpress.comI think this may be a case of size does matter…

18 thoughts on “Oh, The Pressure Of It All!

    1. Thanks, Helen. I found an article from the NY Times and another from AMNY which, I think is owned by the Daily News, to help me out on this post. They do seem to be like the antique piece on our ultra-modern skyline!

  1. I did some research on the NYC’s wooden water tanks after my visit there in November. They are one of my most favorite things about NY. And I learned they are new and more cost effective than using steel. I have some really good pics from our hotel window, there was a whole school of water tanks!

  2. I think I had read this somewhere or maybe I saw it on Dirty Jobs? Maybe Dirty Jobs with Mike Rowe when he had to fix one of these water tanks & as part of his show, he told why they were used in New York. It’s very interesting!

    1. Yes, I think it was featured on Dirty Jobs. I was commenting to my husband the other day that with all the innovations in building that we enjoy in our wonderful city, it’s interesting that the tried-and-true technology still prevails! xoM

  3. Margarita,
    I remember my first trip to New York; it was for two jazz shows, one at Tonic, which I think has closed, the other one at the Knitting Factory. Two things hit me on my arrival: the smell, it was overpowering, and the water towers. It’s unique, it’s beautiful.

    1. The Knitting Factory is still around, Eric, and I mean to get down there…haven’t made it yet. “the smell, it was overpowering” was that, maybe, before Mr. Koch made dog owners clean up after their pups? Although it’s still quite unique, it’s nowhere near as noxious as it used to be! Like you, I love the water towers. There’s a sense of comfort and permanence about a technology that’s been around so long, especially in a society where disposability seems to be the norm. So glad you liked it! xoxoM

      1. Margarita,
        The smell is always the first thing that hits me, without fail, when I visit New York. I get use to it very quickly. But the first few minutes are quite intense…

    1. “Marvel” is a great word to describe these structures. It’s interesting that even today wood tanks are more functional and practical than their steel cousins! xoM

Leave a Reply

