Mr. President: Just A Couple Or Reminders…And A Wish Fulfilled…Sort Of…

President Barack Obama took the oath of office today for his second term as President of the United States.

First, the reminders:
Hudson River roiled by the angry winds of Sandy, October 29, 2012

This is the moment when we must come together to save this planet. Let us resolve that we will not leave our children a world where the oceans rise and famine spreads and terrible storms devastate our lands.

Barack Obama

My job is not to represent Washington to you, but to represent you to Washington.

Barack Obama

And a wish fulfilled:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I just want to go through Central Park and watch folks passing by.  Spend the whole day watching people.  I miss that.

Barack Obama

You’re welcome, Mr. President.

18 thoughts on “Mr. President: Just A Couple Or Reminders…And A Wish Fulfilled…Sort Of…

  1. My partner and I were only saying the other day how much we like Barack Obama. He seems like a kind, caring man full of compassion. I’m sure opinion is divided in the States but from our part of the World we like him a lot.

  2. People watch is one of the best and most relaxing things for me. I used to go down to Union Square or Columbus Circle and stay long hours eating banana muffins and drinking snaples.
    Good old days.

  3. M, you know I do like the principles that Mr. Obama presented. I think he comes across as a caring leader. There are so many variables that make a leader great or not great. For me, I like the fact that he seems to be a spiritual leader, as does Biden, I like the fact that he inherited enormous problems and has tried to solve them. I’m to the point now, that I want a leader that respects our country and the founding principles that it’s built upon (we all know what those are) while at the same time, evolves and knows that we are all one — wanting the same thing — a place where we can call America a place that welcomes all, but knowing that to be called an American, one must embrace this country. And to respect those principles, as any country does. i think President Obama is trying to do all those things.

    1. I agree with you, Brigitte. I was contemplating today that President Obama certainly has big shoes to fill. His predecessors in the past century, FDR and LBJ, were both men of profound conviction about advancement for ALL Americans. They also came to occupy the Office of the President with far more governing and “horse-trading” experience than Mr. Obama did. My hope is that in this, his final term, Mr. Obama will have that audacity he has so eloquently spoken of. I’m sensing a resolve in him now that I found lacking before, and I am audacious enough to hope that it bodes well for all of us, not just those residing in this country, but all of us who are citizens of this beautiful planet! xoxoM

  4. He is the one President I actually feel a bit of sympathy for. The guy does genuinely seem to care, see his reactions to the school shooting for example, but he has a super tough job. So many things to try to achieve and too many idiots trying to oppose some basic but fundamental things, like saving the planet! Second terms are often a bit lame duck, but let us hope he can achieve some good things, as he has nothing to lose this term.

    1. I agree with you, Elliot. The interesting about second terms being lame duck is that it’s a relatively new concept in the history of the American presidency that seems to have taken on a meaning of ineffectiveness. Eisenhower was the first lame-duck president as prior to him there was no limit on how many terms anyone could run for or serve, and he was well-liked enough that he aroused no controversies. LBJ would be the one who really brought that concept to full bloom, so to speak, since he pushed through the Civil Rights Act and he was caught in the quagmire that was VietNam. I think Obama has the opportunity to change the perception of a second term as a point of weakness in a President’s career, to one of great strength. I hope he does just that! As you say, he has nothing to lose, and we all have a lot to gain.

      By the way, just a disclaimer: I’m not a scholar on the American presidency – or anything else! – and I fact-checked by asking my sweet husband, who is a scholar extraordinaire! xoxoM

  5. Thanks for the reminder. Excellent speech he gave! Impressive and inspiring. I was thrilled when he mentioned global warming and the US leading the way in green jobs. Saving the environment and saving the economy need not be mutally exclusive. 🙂

Leave a Reply

