Taking A Powder…

I went out this morning and was greeted with a dusting of snow that made me think of the phrase: Aw, go take a powder!  I’ve heard it often enough in gangster movies meaning get lost!

It got me to thinking about what the original meaning of the phrase might have been. Poking around the internets, it seems that the initial references were to taking headache powders. Eventually, the expression devolved into meaning to powder one’s nose.  Essentially, it means chill out!  Appropriate for a wintry dusting of snow!

6 thoughts on “Taking A Powder…

      1. Scram works. The one I could never figure out is “kiss my ass.” Why on earth would I want to expose my stunning nether regions for adoration to someone I can’t stand?

Leave a Reply

