Share Your Green Spaces

I’m always amused by the notion that a densely populated urban environment is devoid of green spaces.

In Manhattan alone, we are fortunate to enjoy our beloved Central Park in the middle of the island. Along Manhattan’s west side, we also have Hudson River Park at the southern tip of our island, which morphs into Riverside Park around 59th street, and then Riverbank State Park from 145th Street north.ย  There’s tons more!

Since I’m not the only one who lives in a densely populated metropolis, I thought it might be nice to extend Jackie’s challenge to share green spaces other than Central Park to around the globe.

If you’d like to participate, please ping-back your post to me. Although I’ve got a lot to learn about technology, I’ll do my best to show off our global green spaces.

My first offering is the community garden that’s located between Columbus and Amsterdam Avenues, between W89 and W90 Street.ย  Its riotous tulip display every Spring rivals that of the New York Botanical Gardens’ in the Bronx. This is how it looked in May 2016.


7 thoughts on “Share Your Green Spaces

  1. M!!! You are the woman!! YES! I have a friend from the Endless Light and Love Blog, Mark, who was in Shanghai and I challenged him to find a spot of dirt to meditate on and he did! Even in the places that appear to be nothing but concrete and high rises…there is Mother’s whisper! I hope people will take you up on this๐Ÿ™‚ These examples you show here are so lovely! Thank you! link to Marks blog post I’m referring to, I’m going to link your challenge to his page!

  2. Reblogged this on As I see it and commented:
    A challenge from my friend Margarita to all fellow “urbanites of the concrete jungles of our world” to share pictures of their green spaces. I call them “Mother’s whispers! If you live in a densely populated city, do you have “green spaces” you can go to enjoy nature?

Leave a Reply

