Gone Fishing


My uncle took me on my first fishing trip somewhere in Illinois when I was 15 years old. It wasn’t something I’d really wanted to do. He was a heavy machinery mechanic, was going to be out on a job all day, so my brother and I tagged along. My uncle parked me on one side of the pond, baited the hook of the fishing pole he gave me, and let me go to it while he and my brother went to fix the…whatever it was.

Well, I did catch some fish. Every time I did, I’d run around the pond to where my brother and uncle were working, holding the fishing pole as far out in front of me as I could until one of them removed the fish and re-baited the hook.

Come to think of it, that was probably the last time I went fishing!

Perhaps fishing off a nice city pier, in the early morning sun, might have been a more encouraging start…

Naahhh. I’d rather fish for pictures!

9 thoughts on “Gone Fishing

  1. Nice shot, Margarita. There is a pier here where we see people fishing all the time and I always think to myself, we should do that! Instead we walk, enjoy and then go buy fresh fish.🙂.

  2. That looked like a Chicago picture, but the bridges are higher on the river. I haven’t been fishing since my dad took me as a child either. Not my thing, but he still goes, and so does my brother. They have a house on a river for that very thing. I think it’s a relaxation thing for them, since they catch and release.

    1. I think waterfront cities have some commonalities in look and feel, Lori. This is actually Jersey City, just across the Hudson River from Manhattan. I loved the colors!😉 xoM

Leave a Reply

